The National Center for Theoretical Sciences (NCTS) was established in 1997 by the National Science Council (NSC) of the Executive Yuan of the Republic of China. The Mathematics Division South is based at the National Cheng Kung University (NCKU) at Tainan in the southern part of Taiwan.

Our goal is to support mathematics research in particular in frontier areas which are important for the future development of mathematical sciences in Taiwan and to provide a focus for scientific activities for the mathematicians in the southern part of Taiwan.

We facilitate visits by local and international mathematicians. We encourage post doctoral fellows to come to work at our center. We want to make the Center attractive to talented students, young researchers and experts by maintaining a comfortable, active and stimulating atmosphere.