Mission and Workplan:

The primary purpose of this focus group is to promote computational materials research (CMR) based on first-principles calculation methods in Taiwan, by providing a platform for the exchange of ideas among group members and encouragement of both domestic and international collaborations, and also by attracting promising young scholars into this field.


The CMR focus group consists of 29 registered and active faculty members . According to their research interests and expertise and taking into account the current trend of physics, four research areas are specifically identified and accommodated by the corresponding study groups: calculation of the electronic excited states (ES), quantum Monte Carlo methods (QMC), quantum transport (QT), and low dimensional materials (also called nanomaterials or NanoMat). Members of CMR are free to choose and attend study-group meetings led by senior members. They are also entitled to recommend domestic and international scholars who may be invited to address their research interests in dedicated workshops or general meetings sponsored by CMR. Two program-wide meetings are held each year and all CMR members and their students and associates have the opportunity to report the progress of their research activities.


CMR is managed through an executive committee consisting of ten members, with one of them serving as coordinator. Four of them are also in charge of the operations of study groups. They are Hung-Chung Hsueh ( 薛宏中 , TKU) for ES, Chun-Ming Chang ( 張俊明 , NDHU) for QMC, Chao-Cheng Kaun ( 關肇正 , Academia Sinica) for QT, and Feng-Chuan Chuang ( 莊豐權 , NSYSU) for NanoMat. Other incumbent committee members are Mei-Yin Chou ( 周美吟 , Academia Sinica), Yu-Chang Chen ( 陳煜璋 , NCTU), Ching Cheng ( 鄭靜 , NCKU), Michitoshi Hayashi (NTU), Tsan-Chuen Leung ( 梁贊全 , CCU), Ching-Ming Wei ( 魏金明 , Academia Sinica), and Chih-Kai Yang ( 楊志開 , coordinator, NCCU). Noted former members of the executive committee include M.-H. Tsai ( 蔡民雄 , NSYSU, retired), Guang-Yu Guo ( 郭光宇 , NTU), Ming-Hsien Lee ( 李明憲 , TKU) and Shiow-Fon Tsay ( 蔡秀芬 , NSYSU). They have contributed greatly to the success of the focus group. The executive committee is tasked to distribute the funds, to initiate research activities, to invite long-term and short-term visitors, and to review financial supports for graduate students and junior scientists attending international schools, conferences, or workshops, which are otherwise inaccessible to them.




Committee members of focus group:

Name Affiliation E-mail
Chun-Ming Chang Nat'l Dong Hwa Univ. cmc@mail.ndhu.edu.tw
Ching Cheng Nat'l Cheng Kung Univ. ccheng@phys.ncku.edu.tw
Feng-Chuan Chuang Nat'l Sun Yat Sen Univ. fchuang@mail.nsysu.edu.tw
Yu-Chang Chen Nat'l Chiao Tung Univ. yuchangchen@mail.nctu.edu.tw
Mei-Yin Chou Academia Sinica mychou6@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Hung-Chung Hsueh Tamkang University hchsueh@mail.tku.edu.tw
Michitoshi Hayashi Nat'l Taiwan Univ. atmyh@ntu.edu.tw
Chao-Cheng Kaun Academia Sinica kauncc@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Tsan-Chuen Leung Nat'l Chung Cheng Univ. tcleung@phy.ccu.edu.tw
Chih-Kai Yang(Coordinator) Nat'l Chengchi Univ. ckyang@nccu.edu.tw
Ching-Ming Wei Academia Sinica cmw@phys.sinica.edu.tw


Member of focus group: